Monday , 18 February 2019
Home / National Teams / Junior Springboks / Junior Springboks opt for continuity
Junior Springboks, MyPlayers
Junior Springboks, MyPlayers

Junior Springboks opt for continuity

Junior Springbok coach Chean Roux made three personnel changes to his team for their third and final pool match against Argentina at the World Rugby U20 Championship on Thursday.

Curwin Bosch, Ruben van Heerden and Hendre Stassen being drafted into the starting line-up.
Bosch replaces Manie Libbok at flyhalf, while Libbok switches to fullback in the place of Jeanluc Cilliers, who moves to the bench. Upfront, Van Heerden and Stassen will form a new lock pairing.
Van Heerden, who missed the clash against Georgia after taking a knock against France, replaces Reinhard Nothnagel, while Stassen takes over from Salmaan Moerat.

Flanker Muller Uys, who joined the team in Georgia on Sunday morning as an injury replacement for Nama Xaba, will start on the bench in place of Zain Davids, who is serving a two-match suspension.
“We looked at the opposition, how fresh the players are, and their availability, and we feel that this is the best team for the Argentina clash,” said Roux.

“We are fortunate that all the players can play at any time and they are ready and willing to produce the goods, so our focus was not necessarily on continuity, but rather on winning the match.”

Roux expected a challenging task against Argentina in what both teams will regard as a quarter-final, and said his team had to deliver a solid performance all around to book their place in the playoff stages. The top team in each of the three pools will advance to the semi-final, along with the next best placed team on the log standings.

“I think Argentina will play a fast-paced game, but they also have a good scrum, so we need to be up for that.” said Roux. “Our defence also has to be sharp, and we need to play in the right areas. The Georgians played a slow game and we couldn’t get out of our half.”

Junior Springbok team to face Argentina in the World Rugby U20 Championship:
15 – Manie Libbok (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
14 – Yaw Penxe (EP Kings)
13 – Wandisile Simelane (Xerox Golden Lions)
12 – Damian Willemse (DHL Western Province)
11 – Gianni Lombard (Xerox Golden Lions)
10 – Curwin Bosch (Cell C Sharks)
9 – Embrose Papier (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
8 – Juarno Augustus (DHL Western Province)
7 – Ernst van Rhyn (captain – DHL Western Province)
6 – Len Massyn (Xerox Golden Lions)
5 – Ruben van Heerden (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
4 – Hendre Stassen (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
3 – Carlű Sadie (DHL Western Province)
2 – Johan Grobbelaar (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
1 – Kwenzo Blose (Toyota Free State)
16 – Gerhard Steenekamp (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
17 – Daniel Jooste (DHL Western Province)
18 – Wikus Groenewald (DHL Western Province)
19 – Salmaan Moerat (DHL Western Province)
20 – Muller Uys (DHL Western Province)
21 – Francois de Villiers (Cell C Sharks)
22 – Stedman Gans (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
23 – Jeanluc Cilliers (Xerox Golden Lions)

Check Also

Philip Snyman at Cape Town Sevens, MyPlayers

Blitzboks claim bronze at Cape Town Sevens

New Zealand claimed their maiden HSBC Cape Town Sevens title as South Africa had to …

Junior Springboks, MyPlayers

Junior Springboks to face hosts France in 2018

The Junior Springboks have been drawn to face hosts France in Pool C of the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *